Disable “Flash player will no longer be supported after December 2020”

By | Posted on July 30, 2019 | Updated on August 25, 2019

Recent versions of Google Chrome has Flash Player disabled by default. Hence, for some reasons this was not the case for some users or maybe, a number of them have accidentally overridden the settings to run this plug-in. If that is the case, each time user opens Google Chrome or visit a Flash site, expect to see an information bar stating that “Flash player will no longer be supported after December 2020“.

With Google Chrome version 78, which the update actually includes the “cooldown” period where after dismissing the Flash pop-up window (Turn Off), it will temporarily stop bugging you for the next 14 days.

Flash Player Info Bar

How to Disable “Flash player will no longer be supported after December 2020”

There are two ways to stop seeing the Flash Player information window. One is to update Google Chrome to version 78 that will stop showing the “Flash player will no longer be supported after December 2020” for two weeks after clicking on Turn Off button. Another one is to permanently disable it, but likewise put Flash Player out of action permanently.

So, to disable the information bar about this expiration for Flash Player, all you have to do is “Block sites from running Flash”, which is the recommended setting of Google Chrome. To do this, please follow the steps below.

1. Open Google Chrome browser.

2. Type the following strings in the address bar.

chrome://settings/content/flash

3. Now, toggle off the button on Ask first to change it to Block sites from running Flash (recommended).

Flash Ask First

By completing the procedures above, you will no longer be bothered by “Flash player will no longer be supported after December 2020”. But the outcome of this changes may not be favorable especially if you are visiting sites that requires Flash Player to be active.

One thought on “Disable “Flash player will no longer be supported after December 2020”

  1. Bernard

    I still have one application that *need* to run flash (my company is kind of old fashion in this).

    So this reminder will remind me during over one year at least after I use this application and at minimum every 14 days… What a mess google is doing here… I don’t care that it will be turned off… and I will still need to use this app for the time being.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *